About Capital Dynamics 2017-10-10T09:30:48+00:00

About Capital Dynamics

On 28 October 1929, the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) fell 12.8% in a single day. This crash lasted until 8 July 1932 and eventually wiped out 89% of the value of the companies listed on the NYSE. It was the beginning of the Great Depression and a period where those who have lived through it vowed never to go through such an experience again.

On 19 October 1987, the NYSE crashed 508 points or 22.6% in a single day, pulling markets down everywhere. The worst single day in 1929 fell only 12.8%. The world waited for what many had thought was inevitable: The Second Depression.

Someone instead viewed the pessimism then as a marvelous investment opportunity. So, it all began in early 1988, when Tan Teng Boo, founder and managing director of the Capital Dynamics group, set up Capital Dynamics Sdn Bhd (CDSB), which became Malaysia’s first independent investment adviser. CDSB also marked the beginning of a global investment advisory and fund management group.

Capital Dynamics Asset Management (HK) Private Limited (CDHK) obtained the Type 9 (Asset Management) licence issued by the Securities and Futures Commission Hong Kong (SFC) in January 2013. Its principal activity is to provide asset management service to corporations, institutions and individual investors.

CDHK provides discretionary investment management service and the first client was onboarded in October 2015. CDHK manages the i Capital China Fund, a newly launched retail unit trust fund authorised by the SFC.

CDHK is a member of the Capital Dynamics group, a fund management and investment advisory group with offices in Hong Kong, Shanghai, Kuala Lumpur, Singapore and Sydney. Capital Dynamics Sdn Bhd and Capital Dynamics Asset Management Sdn Bhd are licensed by the Securities Commission of Malaysia. Capital Dynamics (S) Private Limited is regulated by the Monetary Authority of Singapore. Capital Dynamics (Australia) Ltd is licenced by the Australian Securities and Investments Commission. The group set up a representative office in Shanghai in 2013 and Capital Dynamics Investment Management and Advisory (Shanghai) Co. Ltd (“CD China”), a wholly foreign-owned enterprise in 2015. CD China will commence business as a fund manager upon obtaining the relevant licences.

Licensed under the Capital Markets & Services Act 2007, Malaysia, Capital Dynamics Sdn Bhd (CDSB) is the first independent Investment Adviser in Malaysia. CDSB has been described as “one of the country’s most iconoclastic and critical research outfits” (Investors Digest : Mid October Issue 2001). Since 1989, CDSB has been publishing the highly respected i Capital, a weekly investment report, in English and Mandarin. In 2002, www.icapital.biz, the online version of i Capital was launched. i Capital and www.icapital.biz, have proven their capability in delivering consistently top quality investment advice.

Licensed under the Capital Markets & Services Act 2007, Malaysia as a Fund Manager, Capital Dynamics Asset Management Sdn Bhd has continuously delivered an unparalleled performance with returns handsomely beating the benchmark indices.

Capital Dynamics Sdn Bhd and Capital Dynamics Asset Management Sdn Bhd are the Investment Adviser and Fund Manager to icapital.biz Berhad, the only closed-end fund listed on Bursa Malaysia. icapital.biz Berhad was listed on 19 October 2005.

In 2006, Capital Dynamics achieved a major milestone when it established Capital Dynamics (S) Pte Limited in Singapore, its platform for global investing. With this, it became the first Asian-owned fund manager to invest worldwide. In July 2007, Capital Dynamics (S) Pte Ltd launched the i Capital Global Fund.

In 2008, while others were shrinking, we had an exciting addition. In February 2008, Capital Dynamics (Australia) Ltd was formed. Based in Sydney, it is the first Asian-owned fund manager to obtain the Australian Financial Services Licence (AFSL326283). It manages the i Capital International Value Fund (ARSN 134578180), an open-end, global unit trust for retail investors. It also offers individually managed accounts for wholesale investors. Capital Dynamics (Australia) invests globally for its clients based on its time tested value investing philosophy.

What distinguishes Capital Dynamics from others is our independent structure that allows us to serve our clients profitably yet without conflicts of interest. It currently manages assets of around USD300 million and still growing. Together, we have built up an impeccable reputation, based on integrity and consistent quality.

We believe that successful investing involves the 3 ‘i‘s – Independence, Intelligence and Integrity.

Independence

Capital Dynamics is an independent fund management and investment advisory house. We are not affiliated with any financial institution, stock broking companies, political or government organisation, preventing any possible conflicts of interest from arising.

Capital Dynamics is owner-operated. For our clients, this represents the assurance of consistency and continuity in our investment approach when managing clients’ portfolios.

Intelligence

Capital Dynamics does not act on tips, rumours, and hearsay, but only on an intimate knowledge of investments, based on intelligent and objective analysis. Our research is independent and we have our in-house team of professionals to analyse companies, industries, markets and economies first-hand.

Integrity

Our success is undeniably tied with our clients’ success. While it sounds abstract, Capital Dynamics believes that integrity will in the long run show in the investment returns our clients receive.

Our managing director, Teng Boo, has always been fascinated with the stock market, having been a “student” of the market for more than 40 years. He strongly believes that investing intelligently in equities will provide superior investment returns. Having seen and experienced his first bull and bear market in 1972-1973 was not enough. It was a passion that had to be whetted and Capital Dynamics was the manifestation. But having a passion, although a powerful motivating force, is not enough.

What are the choices available to investors, be they individuals, corporations or institutions, when they want to invest in the stock market? Who can they turn to for investment services without conflicts of interest?

To better illustrate this dilemma facing an investor, we quote from the book “Where are the customers’ yachts?” Written in 1940 by Fred Schwed, it says:
“An out-of-town visitor was shown the wonders of the New York financial district.

When the party arrived at the Battery, one of his guides indicated some handsome ships riding at anchor.

He said, “Look, those are the bankers’ and then brokers’ yachts.”

The naïve visitor asked, “Where are the Customer’s Yachts?”

At Capital Dynamics, we realised that there are many investors who needed a fund manager or investment adviser that has a “partnership” attitude towards clients, one whose success is unquestionably tied up with the performance of clients’ investments. There is a dire need for a fund manager or investment adviser that has no conflicts of interest, either hidden or obvious. One that has a very clear focus.

In building up Capital Dynamics as an independent, owner-operated set-up, there is really no doubt that we have put our money where our mouth is. Even though the structure is corporate, our attitude is one of genuine partnership. We do well only if our clients do well.

About Capital Dynamics2017-10-10T09:30:48+00:00

關于資威

于1929 年 10月 28日,紐約證券交易所在壹天內下跌12.8%。該下挫持續至1932年7月8日,並徹底銷毀了上市于紐約證券交易所公司的89%的市值。這是大蕭條的開始,而那些曾經經曆過這個時期的人,都發誓永遠不會再體驗這般經曆。

于1987年10月19日,紐約證券交易所在壹天內狂跌508點或22.6%,各個地方的股市下跌了。1929年最差的壹天只下跌了12.8%。全世界在等待許多人認爲是不可避免的:第二次大蕭條。

有個人反而把此次悲觀的情況視爲壹個奇妙的投資機會。就在1988年初期開始,陳鼎武,資威的創始人兼常務董事,成立了資威私人有限公司 (簡稱 CDSB),成爲了馬來西亞第壹家獨立的投資顧問。

資威投資資産管理(香港)私人有限公司于2013年1月,獲得證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)發出的第9類資産管理牌照。 其主要業務是爲企業,機構和個人投資者提供資産管理服務。

資威投資資産管理(香港)私人有限公司于爲專業投資者提供慎重的投資管理服務,第壹個客戶在2015年10月上崗了。我們還管理由證監會授權新成立的零售單位信托基金‘資本投資中國基金’。

資威資産管理(香港)私人有限公司是資威集團的成員之壹。資威集團的主要業務爲基金管理人和投資顧問, 分別于香港、上海、吉隆坡、新加坡及悉尼設有辦事處。資威私人有限公司和資威資産管理私人有限公司均持有馬來西亞證券委員會的執照。資威(新加坡)私人有限公司則是受新加坡金融管理局監管。資威(澳)有限公司由澳大利亞證券投資委員會授權。資威也于2013年在上海成立代表處,于2015年成立資威上海資金管理人和顧問,壹個外商獨資企業。資威將在獲得相關許可證後,作爲基金經理開始其業務。

持有2007年馬來西亞資本市場與服務法案的執照,資威私人有限公司是馬來西亞第壹所獨立的投資顧問公司。資威私人有限公司被描述爲“全國最前衛及極具重要性的研究機構之壹” (投資者文摘:2001年10月中旬)。自1989年,資威私人有限公司已經以英文和中文出版了廣受認可的投資周刊 – 《資本投資》。于2002年, www.icapital.biz推出了網絡版的《資本投資》。 《資本投資》和www.icapital.biz已經證明了他們能夠持續提供高質量投資建議的能力。

獲得2007年馬來西亞資本市場與服務法的執照並身爲基金管理人的資威資産管理私人有限公司持續展現了無與倫比的表現,其回酬屢屢超越基准指數。

資威私人有限公司與資威資産管理私人有限公司是資本投資有限公司(唯壹壹個在大馬股票市場上市的關閉式基金)的投資顧問和基金管理人。資本投資有限公司于2005年10月19日上市。

于2006年,資威集團在新加坡建立了壹個全球投資的平台 – 資威(新)私人有限公司, 是亞洲第壹家在全球投資的私人基金管理員,使集團達到壹個重大的裏程碑。作爲全球基金管理員,CDPL已經實現了世界級、超越市場的表現。借此,該公司成了第壹家在全球投資的亞洲基金管理者。于2007年7月,資威(新)推出了“資本投資全球基金”。

在2008年,當投資市場正在萎縮時,我們卻增添了壹個令人振奮的成員。 于2008年2月,資威(澳)有限公司成立了。設立于悉尼,其爲資威最新的成員,也是亞洲第壹家獲得澳大利亞金融服務許可證(AFSL326283)的基金管理人。它管理了資本投資國際價值基金(ARSN 134578180),壹個發售給零售投資者的開放式全球單位信托。它還爲批發投資者提供獨立管理賬戶。資威(澳)有限公司根據其經過時間考驗的價值投資理念,爲其客戶在全球投資。

資威之所以與衆不同,乃在于我們的獨立結構,使我們在沒有利益沖突的環境下能夠爲客戶提供最好的服務。目前,資威管理的資産約爲3億美元,並且仍在增長當中。基于誠信和壹貫的品質,我們壹同建立了無可指摘的聲譽。

我們認爲成功的投資涉及3‘i’ – 獨立、精確和誠實。

獨立


資威是壹家獨立的基金管理員和投資顧問公司。我們沒有與其他任何金融機構、證券公司、政黨或政府組織挂鈎,因此避免了利益沖突的産生。


資威是由業主經營。 對于我們的客戶來說,這意味著在管理客戶的投資組合時,我們可以保證壹致性和連續性的投資方式。

精確

資威不是根據貼士、謠言、傳聞等做出投資決定,而是憑客觀分析的透徹投資知識。我們的研究是獨立性的。我們擁有本身的專業人士來對公司、工業、股市和經濟做出第壹手的研究。

誠實

我們的成功無疑與我們客戶的成功聯系在壹起。雖然這字眼看起來很抽象,但資威相信在長遠裏,這價值觀的優點會反映在我們客戶的投資回酬。

我們的常務董事,鼎武,壹直對股票市場著迷,已經成爲了股市37年的“學生”。 他堅信,精確的投資股票將提供卓越的投資回酬。 在1972 – 1973年期間,看到並體驗了他人生中第壹次牛市與熊市,對他而言是不夠的。這是壹種激情,而資威是壹種表現。 擁有激情雖然是壹個強大的動力,但仍然不夠。

投資者,無論是個人,公司還是機構,當他們想投資股票市場時,都有哪些選擇?他們能向誰獲得沒有利益沖突的投資服務?

爲了更好地說明投資者面臨的這個困境,我們引用了《客戶的遊艇在哪裏?》這本書, 由Fred Schwed在1940年寫道:
“壹個市外的遊客被帶領去參觀紐約金融區的奇景。

當他們到達巴特雷時,他的壹個導遊指示了壹些壯觀的的船只。

他說:“看,那些是銀行家、經紀人的遊艇。”

天真的遊客問:“客戶的遊艇在哪裏?”

在資威,我們意識到有很多投資者需要壹位對客戶具有“夥伴關系”態度的基金管理員或投資顧問,其成功無疑與客戶的投資業績聯系在壹起。他們迫切需要壹個不只是沒有任何隱藏或明顯的利益沖突的基金管理員或投資顧問,而且還擁有壹個非常清楚的焦點。

在建立資威作爲壹個獨立的、由業主經營的公司,毫無疑問地,我們已經實現了曾經許下的諾言。即使資威是壹個企業,我們的態度是真正的夥伴關系。 只有我們的客戶做得好,我們才能做得好。